Alberta’s Diary | July 1915

Thursday, July 1, 1915

Heavy showers last night nearly swamped the garden. Ella stayed all night at the Lawrences we cleaned the cellar shelves and mother whined every minute of the time. we go to the club luncheon at Mrs Vermilye’s. Hilde took me, we had a lovely time. 18 were there.

Friday, July 2, 1915

Hilde took me to see Dr H Ward about my eyes.Mrs Russell and Mrs Thornton also went for ride. we road home as there was a shower

Saturday, July 3, 1915

Saturday Sunday  Saturday. Made cookies

Sunday, July 4, 1915

Played the morning service. Mrs Goss over took me going and brought me home a Mr Newcomb is to preach in the evening, but Ella go out for all afternoon + evening.

Monday, July 5, 1915

Rained hard all morning. Ella went out in afternoon and had company all evening. cleaned off and all our crowd went to the Club at Palisades for the fireworks and dance. Mrs Rionda took me. we got home at 12.30

Tuesday, July 6, 1915

Lovely day. I went to Closter to do some shopping. This afternoon we all go to dinner at Coney Island. I am to go in the Dyer car. we had such a lovely dinner and such fun after, every one was so jolly. There were 18 of us we got home quarter to one A.M.

Wednesday, July 7, 1915

Felt tired so did not do much. Mother worries all the time.

Thursday, July 8, 1915

Rain + fog went to Club luncheon at Mrs Jacquette’s there were 18 there. Hilde took me we had a lovely time I came home with Mrs Rionda in a new car they have. Sent Aunty pot-cheese.

Friday, July 9, 1915

Lovely day went for mail and in church sewed on my smock. Mrs Dillon helped me with the collar. Ella was out all afternoon and two hours in evening.

Saturday, July 10, 1915

Lovely day. mother did not feel so well so stayed in bed for a while. I went to practice on organ after she got up. The “Movies” were all around the church. Stayed in all afternoon. Ella was out. I went to call on Alberts. Carl + Julia Masier were there.1Lovely day. mother did not feel so well so stayed in bed for a while. I went to practice on organ after she got up. The “Movies” were all around the church. Stayed in all afternoon. Ella was out. I went to call on Alberts. Carl + Julia Masier were there.

Sunday, July 11, 1915

Lovely day played the morning and evening service. Mr McNutly came home with me. It began to rain and rained all night. May brought me over some cake.

Monday, July 12, 1915

Cloudy + rainy mother stayed in bed. So I have time to write and do things. Mother got up at 12 o’c I went to call on Mrs Walker. found Miss Walker Ella was over at the Mavers for 2 hrs before supper and went over again after supper. and Mrs Maver was here twice.

Tuesday, July 13, 1915

Went to city with Mrs Rionda, and got my glasses made came out over the new ferry at Dykman St.2 It is a lovely way to go. Ella went out in evening.

Wednesday, July 14, 1915

Ella went on an Excursion leaving at 7 o’c and got home at 1 o’c at night.

Thursday, July 15, 1915

Ella went out in afternoon and in eve

Friday, July 16, 1915

Ethel telephoned last night that she and Ed would come out to dinner. So I went to Closter to market, and Mother stayed in bed till noon. We were so busy Ella had company came and stayed 2 hours. than Mrs Maver came in and poor Ella is way behind in her work I go with Hilde to see Dr H Ward about my glasses. Dr W says my glasses are all right and when I got back Ethel and Ed were here.

Saturday, July 17, 1915

Ethel stayed to dinner and left at 8.30. Mother acted dreadfully called me upstairs all the time. very warm.

Sunday, July 18, 1915

Very warm. I played the morning service and Mrs Copeland the evening one. Mother was so restless and whining all day and at night came down stairs four times in her night dress. It was an awful day. but I was so glad to see Ed.

Monday, July 19, 1915

Very warm Ed went on the 8.55. I stayed in all day. Mother worries all day.

Tuesday, July 20, 1915

Cool and nice. Mother still worries.

Wednesday, July 21, 1915

Cloudy went to call on Mrs M. Rionda. She was ill so did not see her. but had a chat with Mr Rionda. Called on Mrs Goin and asked if I could help with the luncheon. Mother worries, will try to get some one.

Thursday, July 22, 1915

I went down to see Emma Loring, as she was not feeling well. went to the Club luncheon at Mrs Goin’s it was Mrs M.E. Rionda’s.  we had a lovely time. It rained but cleared later, and was lovely. Mother fusses all the time.

Friday, July 23, 1915

Lovely cool day. Mother fussed fearfully, so I tried to get some one but could not. went to practice on organ.

Saturday, July 24, 1915

Cousin Ed came at about 3.30. It was lovely and cool and moonlight.3Cousin Ed came at about 3.30. It was lovely and cool and moonlight.

Sunday, July 25, 1915

I played the morning service, the minister preached a sermon on class distinction. Some heard I guess. Ella was out all afternoon and evening. I got supper, mother behaved quite well.

Monday, July 26, 1915

Ed went on 8.55 went calling with Hilde

Tuesday, July 27, 1915

Lovely day went calling with Hilde

Wednesday, July 28, 1915

I stayed home all day. Ella went out all afternoon till 6.30

Thursday, July 29, 1915

The Club luncheon was at Mr Merchant’s. There were 11 there. it was so very warm. but a lovely breeze all evening. I did not sleep all night and mother and a mosquito were after me all the while.

Friday, July 30, 1915

Very warm. I have tried to rest, but mother fusses all the while. There is a party at the Goins’ to night. Blanche + Mrs Young are to come at 5 o’c. They came and we went to the dance at Mrs Goins, it was most beautiful. 1000 lanterns, and lovely music. came home at 1 o’c

Saturday, July 31, 1915

Very warm.


  1. Fort Lee was an early film location ↩︎
  2. 16th Annual Report for the Commissioners of the Palisades Interstate Park: “The Englewood Approach section of the Henry Hudson Drive was completed and opened for traffic in July. At the same time a ferry was established between the end of this Drive and Dyckman street, New York City. A regular fifteen-minute service was maintained by two boats. Large numbers of automobiles and foot passengers were carried to the Park during the remainder of the summer.” ↩︎
  3. Cousin Edwin Miles, Alberta’s relative through her Uncle Francis. They live in California ↩︎


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started